A bit late in the day

… to be discovering a series from the 90’s, but the really good stuff never gets old, eh? I’m speaking, of course, about Spaced. It’s absolutely brilliant. I’m so very happy that the broadcasting company or whatever didn’t bury it in a mouldy archive somewhere and then forgot all about it. It really needed to stay out in the open so that I could find it and have my spirits lifted. My favourite episode so far is the one in which Daisy, forced to work in a restaurant kitchen, has a gruesome One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest experience, Tim and Mike have a Fight Club kinda Robot War showdown, and Brian, supported (sort of) by Marsha, rises beautifully to the task when he’s offered to make an installation at a very artsy art gallery. Made me laugh lika a maniac.

Alas, they only made two seasons of the series, but the gloriously funny Jessica Hynes (Stevenson) is also visible, memorably so, in the “must see” Twenty Twelve series where she plays the head-spinningly fast talking and crazy nonsense blurting Siobhan Sharpe, Head of PR or something at the London 2012 Olympic Games. Damn, she’s good!

